Will the SAG Award Winners Go on to Win Oscars?

Screen Actors Guild Nominees 2011
Nicole Kidman and Jesse Eisenberg
Charles Eshelman/FilmMagic; Donna Ward/Getty

12/16/2010 10:00AM

Awards season officially kicked into high gear Thursday morning, with the announcement of the nominations for the 17th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards – roundly considered the strongest prognosticators of the performance Oscars.

Among the top SAG contenders are cast members of The Fighter – though leading man Mark Wahlberg didn't make the cut, while supporting players Christian Bale, Melissa Leo and Amy Adams did – and The King's Speech, Black Swan and The Kids Are All Right (minus Julianne Moore).

In the TV categories, such stalwarts as 30 Rock and Mad Men, along with their stars and featured actors, Tina Fey and Alec Baldwin, and Jon Hamm and Elisabeth Moss, were recognized, as were cast members from the newcomers Modern Family and Boardwalk Empire.





Also in the running: the indomitable Betty White, for her leading role in the TV comedy series Hot in Cleveland, and actors on Glee, including Jane Lynch, who'll be vying with White for the award, which is called The Actor.

Honoring outstanding performances from 2010 in five film categories and eight TV, the nominees in the major categories are:

Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture
Black Swan
The Fighter
The Kids Are All Right
The King's Speech
The Social Network

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Leading Role
Jeff Bridges in True Grit
Robert Duvall in Get Low
Jesse Eisenberg in The Social Network
Colin Firth in The King's Speech
James Franco in 127 Hours

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Leading Role
Annette Bening in The Kids Are All Right
Nicole Kidman in Rabbit Hole
Jennifer Lawrence in Winter's Bone
Natalie Portman in Black Swan
Hilary Swank in Conviction

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Supporting Role
Christian Bale in The Fighter
John Hawkes in Winter's Bone
Jeremy Renner in The Town
Mark Ruffalo in The Kids Are All Right
Geoffrey Rush in The King's Speech

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Supporting Role
Amy Adams in The Fighter
Helena Bonham Carter in The King's Speech
Mila Kunis in Black Swan
Melissa Leo in The Fighter
Hailee Steinfeld in True Grit

For a complete list of nominations, click here.

The Life Achievement Award – which last year did wonders for Betty White – will be presented to the exuberant Oscar winner (for 1955's Marty), Ernest Borgnine, also remembered for TV's McHale's Navy and the movies From Here to Eternity, The Dirty Dozen and The Poseidon Adventure, among others. The younger crowd also knows him as the voice of Mermaid Man on SpongeBob SquarePants.

SAG president Ken Howard, in announcing Borgnine's honor, said, "Whether portraying brutish villains, sympathetic everymen, complex leaders or hapless heroes, Ernest Borgnine has brought a boundless energy which, at 93, is still a hallmark of his remarkably busy life and career. It is with that same joyous spirit that we salute his impressive body of work and his steadfast generosity."

The Screen Actors Guild Awards will be simulcast live on TNT and TBS on Sunday, Jan. 30, 2011, at 8 p.m. (ET), 7 p.m. (CT), 6 p.m. (MT) and 5 p.m. (PT) from Los Angeles's Shrine Exposition Center. An encore presentation will air on TNT at 10 p.m. (ET) 9 p.m. (CT), 8 p.m. (MT) and 7 p.m. (PT).

For the 15th year, PEOPLE Magazine and the Entertainment Foundation will be co-sponsoring the after-party.

See what other readers have to say about this story – or leave a comment of your own


PHOTOS: Best of 2010 Shocking moments, amazing weddings and fashion favorites!

Share this story:

Your reaction:

advertisement

From Our Partners

From Our Partners